Commencement Awards​

First conferred in 1982 to Catherine May Bedell, a 1934 YVC graduate and U.S. Representative for Washington state, this award honors notable alumni of the college. Eligible alumni are those who attended YVC for a minimum of three quarters, earning at least 45 credits, and distinguished themselves in their careers and/or civic engagement.

​The Distinguished Service Award provides recognition to a community member or organization who provides support to the mission of Yakima Valley College and its students. Award selection is made by the President’s Office.

Since 1981, this award has recognized retired and retiring faculty who served at least 10 years of full-time employment at the college. The award is selected by a committee overseen by the President’s Office from nominations submitted by students, faculty, staff and community members.

Established by longtime YVC supporters Sherrie and Daryl Parker, this award provides recognition to a full-time faculty member who, through extraordinary interactions and personal influence, motivates students toward greater academic and personal achievement.

Established by former Vice President of Administration and YVC Foundation Executive Director Darlene Koch, this award honors the hard work and dedication of Yakima Valley College’s classified staff. Selection is made by the YVC Foundation.

Established by Velekanje Law Firm in memory of the late YVC Foundation Director Robert M. Leadon, this award honors full-time YVC faculty who demonstrate excellence in their teaching. Selection is made by the YVC Foundation.