Yakima Valley College Foundation


Thank you for supporting YVC students!

A Message from the Foundation President

Thank you for supporting YVC students!

The Yakima Valley College Foundation has been providing support to the Yakima Valley College and its students since it was organized in 1977 by Dr. William Russell, college President and Marvin Sundquist, philanthropist. Its assets, which have grown to some $12 million, provide an earnings base to fund as many as 200 tuition scholarships and a student success fund each year. The successful fund-raising effort by Foundation Directors qualified us for three U. S. Department of Education (DOE) matching grants. Community support and the DOE grants added $2,700,000 to the endowment fund. In addition to the Endowed Scholarship Funds the Foundation contributed $350,000 to an Endowed Fund for Faculty Endowment and received matching funds from the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC.)

With the rising cost of higher education and the ever greater necessity of an education to obtain employment, the mission of the Foundation is of increasing importance. There is more and more demand for the assistance offered to students by the Foundation. The response by the Foundation must be to continue to enlarge our capital base. We feel confident that those members of the community who understand the importance of education will respond to this need just as they have in the past. We salute those who have been responsible for the growth of the Yakima Valley College Foundation and encourage others to meet the challenge of equipping our young people for a productive future.

Mary Sundquist


Purpose of the Foundation

Yakima Valley College Foundation exists to provide scholarships and financial assistance to students and support Yakima Valley College.

Since 1977, the Foundation has awarded scholarships each year ranging from $150,000 to $650,000 which provide many deserving students an opportunity to attain a higher education who otherwise would not have access to college. The Foundation relies on alumni, friends, and concerned citizens to underwrite its scholarship programs.

The ability to provide opportunities to needy and deserving students can only continue through the efforts of the Foundation and your generous support. Please continue your support if you are currently a benefactor. If you are not, will you help the Foundation with your donation?

Foundation Officers & Directors

Board Officers

Mary Sundquist
Mary SundquistPresident
Pat Gilmore
Pat GilmoreVice President
Eric Rasmussen
Eric Rasmussen Treasurer
Ann Miller
Ann MillerSecretary

Executive Committee

Richard Elliot
Richard ElliotExecutive Committee
Leslie Eglin
Leslie EglinExecutive Committee
Glenn Rice
Glenn RiceExecutive Committee

Board Members

Jean Brown
Jean BrownBoard Member
Paul McDonald
Paul McDonaldBoard Member
Tom Miller
Tom MillerBoard Member
Glenn Rasmussen
Glenn RasmussenBoard Member
Clark Sandos
Clark SandosBoard Member
Janet White
Janet WhiteBoard Member
Stacey Kautz
Stacey KautzExecutive Director

Honorary Directors

Brenda Brink
Sid Morrison
Delma Tayer
Richard Wiehl